Author of Peck's Bad Boy

Author, Politician, Publisher, and Statesman

Peck's Uncle Ike and the Red Headed Boy (1899)

In this 217 page book the Red Headed Boy makes life miserable for his Uncle Ike. This is not unlike how Peck's Bad Boy tortured all the adults in his life.

When George W. Peck along with his son established the new iteration of his weekly Peck's Sun in May, 1899, instead of a Peck's Bad Boy column, Peck's Uncle Ike starred in the feature column. The Uncle Ike stories were put into book form when Peck's Uncle Ike and the Red-Headed Boy was published in November, 1899.

A picture of George W. Peck is the frontispiece. There are twenty-five full page line drawn illustrations (including the frontispiece) done by Ike Morgan. Morgan (1871-1913), a native of St. Louis, was a well known illustrator of children's books. He illustrated the Woggle-Bug Book which was written by L. Frank Baum of Wizard of Oz fame. He also worked with several New York newspapers.

The first format cover has a picture of a seahorse as well as several letters on the bottom left of the chair. These are indicators that the cover was designed and illustrated by W. W. Denslow. Denslow is best known as the illustrator of the Wonderful Wizard of Oz. In the early 1900's he was the head of the illumination department for the Roycroft Press. His cover work frequently features a seahorse.

This title was published by three publishing houses between 1899 and the 1910's.
1. Alexander Belford Company (first edition publisher)
2. Jamieson-Higgins Company
3. Hurst and Company

This title was also published as a combination book. This large volume included both Peck's Uncle Ike and the Red Headed Boy as well as Sunbeams. The former book appeared in its entirety with the usual Morgan illustrations. It was published in this combination volume by three publishers.
1. Thompson and Thomas (1900 and later)
2. M. A. Donohue & Co. 1901 3. Charles C. Thompson and Company.

First Edition 1899 (Alexander Belford Company, Chicago)

With the exception of some Hurst editions the cover of this title never changed regardless of dates or publishers.

The Alexander Belford Company published books only in 1899. The only Peck book it published was the first edition of Peck's Uncle Ike and the Red Headed Boy. It was printed in wraps in November, 1899 as Volume 1 in the Belford Series (25 cents) and in hardcover (50 cents) (see below). Both books are 12 mos.

First edition in wraps and cloth.

Later reprints.

1900-1902 Jamieson-Higgins (Chicago) published this title between 1900-1902. The format is unchanged from the 1899 first edition published by Alexander Belford. This firm published this book in wraps and cloth in 12 mos. size.

Hurst and Company

This New York firm first published this title in wraps and cloth in 1903. It was advertised as being part of "Our Famous "Peck" Books". This included three Peck books- This title, Peck's Red Headed Boy and Sunbeams. The cover picture of this title remained the same until 1909 at which time the cover picture changed.

1903-1908 in wraps


Post 1909 book (new cover picture) Brown uncoated dust jacket paper.


Post-1909 Later Format with white coated dust jacket paper

Hurst published this title in two of its publisher's series.
1. The Fairy Tale Series between 1903-1908 (12 Mos.) for 50 cents.
The Fairy Tale Series is a seventeen volume series published between 1905 and 1908. The titles were priced at 50 cents each. The covers are stereotyped except for the title and the appliqué picture. The books are 7.5 x 5.25 (12 Mo.) and originally came with a dust jacket. Peck's Uncle Ike and the Red Headed Boy is the only Peck volume in the series.

2. Presentation Series between 1905-1909 (Crown 8 Vo. (8" x 6")) for $1.00. This volume is a combination book including Peck's Uncle Ike and Peck's Red Headed Boy.

Starting in 1909 Peck's Uncle Ike and the Red Headed Boy was published in the Young American Library. These 12 mo. books were sold for 50 cents. The books can be distinguished from the earlier non series Pecks' by their smaller size- 7 x 5.25. Also the books in this series have a list of "Hurst's Books for Boys" on the back of the dust jacket. The titles of this series were published with a number of different covers.

Thompson and Thomas published the first combination book that contained this title in 1900.

This is the 1900 publication.


Here is the 1901 version.


Here is the title page for the post-1901 Thompson and Thomas editions. Note that although the the cover and text is identical to the 1901 edition, the title page does not mention Sunbeams.

Post-1901 title page

This combination book was also published in 1901 by M. A. Donohue & Co. Michael A. Donohue's publishing company succeeded the Donohue Brothers which was only in business during 1900.

With the exception of the title page, this book is identical to the Thompson and Thomas book.

Charles C. Thompson published this combination book in about 1909. This is when this Chicago company succeeded Thompson and Thomas. The book format is identical to the 1901 combination book published by Thompson and Thomas.


Last Revision: April 30, 2017